Sh!t I Learned From My Crappy Childhood
Sh!t I Learned From My Crappy Childhood
AUDIO VERSION: Thanks for Thanksgiving
4
0:00
-5:49

AUDIO VERSION: Thanks for Thanksgiving

4

In the Hopkins/Littell family, we don’t often sit down for formal meals. Big dinners are reserved for birthdays, a handful of holidays, and every few months when I panic-decide that we’re drifting apart. But when we do sit down together, I make a point to ask my family to share what they’re thankful for. Now before you veer off course, imagining the Hop-Tells as some Norman Rockwell family that exudes joy, kindness, and togetherness, let me say we ain’t that. 

I’m thankful for these turds!

As soon as the words “thankful” come out of my mouth, there are audible groans, they begin stalling, they make fun of me, there’s whining, and at least one person asks “Do we have to?”

I patiently wait for them to get all that nonsense out of their systems. Then, because they know I can sit there all, damn, day, long, the sharing of gratitude begins. Henry always goes last. Maxine gets mad if we go out of seating order. Mary gives me the side eye. It’s not perfect, but it’s one of the traditions our family has built that I love, so we’re keeping it. You hear me, kids, and Mary?

When I thought about writing an essay about giving thanks for the upcoming holiday, I initially thought I’d list all the things we’re thankful for (in a funny way, of course,) but as I began writing, I kept getting the creeping feeling that the piece was going to feel Pinterest mom at best, and humble brag at worst. That’s the furthest from the reality of how things go down in my family. 

So, instead, I decided to record all the Hopkins/Littell members giving their thanks, and I’ve edited it together so you can hear all the groaning, the grumbling, and even the side eye. Click the play button above to listen!

It’s a hot mess, but…

If you listen closely, you can hear the gratitude.

For me, I don’t care how we get to the state of gratitude, I’m just happy when we arrive!  If you too need help finding your way to thanks, feel free to leave a comment with all that you’re grateful for this holiday season! You just might surprise yourself. 

Happy Thanksgiving, y’all.

Leave a comment

Share

Sh!t I Learned From My Crappy Childhood is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Discussion about this podcast

Sh!t I Learned From My Crappy Childhood
Sh!t I Learned From My Crappy Childhood
Writer, actress, podcast host, Robin Hopkins talks life lessons from a crappy childhood. She chats family, parenting, childhood, and sometimes, running away from your past.