Sh!t I Learned From My Crappy Childhood
Sh!t I Learned From My Crappy Childhood
As an LGBTQ Parent, You Have to Come Out Again and Again and Again…
0:00
-5:11

As an LGBTQ Parent, You Have to Come Out Again and Again and Again…

If These Ovaries Could Talk: The Things We’ve Learned About Making an LGBTQ Family

In honor of PRIDE month, I’m sharing an excerpt from my book, “If These Ovaries Could Talk: The Things We’ve Learned About Making an LGBTQ Family.” I’ll give you three guesses as to what the book is about. 

If you guessed Making an LGBTQ family, you’re not only right but you’re also smart and observant. If you guessed something else, well… I don’t know how I can help you. It’s in the title. 

Anyhoo, I was honored to write this book as a resource for those who are jumping through all the hoops trying to make their non-traditional family. It ain't easy, folks. But I’m also honored that this book exists as a resource for friends and family members who aren’t aware of all the money, intentionality, and spreadsheets with which we must approach family building. 

If you know someone in the LGBTQ community looking to start a family or have a friend or family member who wants to understand the journey to having kids as an LGBTQ person, this book is for you. It’s chock-full of stories, and it’s chock-full of love and laughter too. 

So enjoy listening to this excerpt about how being a parent, who happens to be gay, means you have to come out all over again.

Happy Pride, y’all! 

Leave a comment

Buy This Book!

Excerpts from If These Ovaries Could Talk: The Things We’ve Learned About Making an LGBTQ Family. Copyright © 2020 Robin Hopkins and Jaimie Kelton. All rights reserved. Reprinted with permission from Lit Riot Press

Discussion about this podcast

Sh!t I Learned From My Crappy Childhood
Sh!t I Learned From My Crappy Childhood
Writer, actress, podcast host, Robin Hopkins talks life lessons from a crappy childhood. She chats family, parenting, childhood, and sometimes, running away from your past.